Gathering Waters’ 15th Land Conservation Leadership Awards Celebration

Land Conservation Leadership Awards

Sep 21, 2017  •  Monona Terrace, Madison, WI  •  5:30 PM – 8:30 PM

Learn more and register

These annual awards recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of individuals, policy makers, land trusts, and other groups that help protect the places that make Wisconsin special. They honor the power of committed citizens and offer inspiring examples of conservation success.

Congratulations to the 2017 Award Winners:

  • Conservationist of the Year – Jim Welsh, Executive Director of the Natural Heritage Land Trust, has been instrumental in the protection of many of the most loved and valued places in south central Wisconsin. During Jim’s successful tenure over the past 15 years, NHLT has achieved national accreditation and now has conserved over 10,000 acres of farms, forests, prairies, and wetlands in and around Dane County.
  • Harold “Bud” Jordahl Lifetime Achievement Award – Dan Wisniewski of Middleton has spent decades influencing public policy to benefit land and water conservation in Wisconsin. Dan has served as a dedicated board member with the Northwoods Land Trust, supporting their efforts to protect over 11,000 acres, and through his volunteer efforts and leadership with Trout Unlimited, he has played a critical role in securing restoration funding and public access on some of best cold water streams in Wisconsin.
  • Land Legacy Award – Terry & DiAnne Hatch are Iron County landowners whose generous support of land conservation has been deeply impactful. Their contributions have created a legacy of protected land throughout the state and have bolstered advocacy efforts to secure hundreds of millions of dollars in public conservation funding through Wisconsin’s Knowles-Nelson Stewardship Program. Terry served for several years on the Gathering Waters Board of Directors, and he and DiAnne have long supported conservation organizations ranging from the Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters to the Northwoods Land Trust.
  • Land Trust of the Year – Driftless Area Land Conservancy is a nationally accredited land trust that has protected over 7,000 acres of unique natural and agricultural landscapes in southwest Wisconsin. Through strong leadership from their board and staff, DALC has grown into an invaluable local asset, providing public access, advocacy, and outdoor educational services in communities across their 5-county service area.
  • Policymaker of the Year – State Senator Sheila Harsdorf of River Falls has demonstrated an enduring commitment to land and water conservation in Wisconsin through her role on the Legislature’s Joint Committee on Finance, her service on the board of the Wisconsin Conservation Corps, and her role as a founding board member of the Kinnickinnic River Land Trust. Her long-time support of the Knowles-Nelson Stewardship Program embodies Wisconsin’s strong bi-partisan legacy of land conservation.