Wisconsin Chapter of the American Planning Association announces its 2010 Planning Awards

MADISON, WI – The Wisconsin Chapter of the American Planning Association is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2010 Planning Awards.  The award ceremony will take place at Monona Terrace Conference Center located in Madison at noon on Friday, March 5, 2010.

Award nominations are reviewed by an out-of-state jury and are judged on a variety of criteria, including originality and innovation, transferability, overall quality, the role of planners, the value added to the community, and general effectiveness and results.

“The award recipients for 2010 represent the strong commitment of Wisconsin’s community leaders to planning and quality of life and reflects positively on the quality and breadth of expertise among Wisconsin’s professional planners”, said Gary Peterson, Chapter President.

This year, a total of five chapter awards, two President’s awards, and 7 recognition awards will be presented as follows:

Plan DocumentFor a plan of unusually high quality and effectiveness:

  • Kinnickinnic River Corridor Neighborhood Plan, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District, prepared in conjunction with Sixteenth Street Community Health Center, JJR, LLC (Madison), GRAEF (Milwaukee), Beth Foy & Associates (Milwaukee), and Pa’lante! Creative, LLC (Milwaukee)
  • Village of Greendale Comprehensive Plan:  2010 – 2035, Village of Greendale, prepared in conjunction with GRAEF (Milwaukee)


Urban DesignFor an urban design concept for a new or redeveloped area of unusually high quality and design:

  • East Washington Avenue Capitol Gateway Corridor Plan, City of Madison, prepared in conjunction with Vandewalle & Associates (Madison)
  • Downtown Riverfront Vision, Village of Sauk City, prepared in conjunction with MSA Professional Services, Inc. (Madison)


Individual Award, Elected OfficialAn elected official who has made a substantial contribution to planning excellence in their community.

  • Randy Leiker, Town Chairman, Town of Greenville, Outagamie County



President’s AwardsPresented by the President of the Wisconsin Chapter to an individual who has made a significant contribution to planning excellence and the quality of life in Wisconsin.

  • Milly Zantow, in recognition of her leadership in developing a national recycling program.  Inspired by a trip to Japan, Milly Zantow is the reason we have the little recycling numbers on plastic containers today.  The recycling revolution started at a recycling center in Sauk County she founded in 1979.  It started with the sorting of milk jugs and grew into the extensive program we all know today!
  • Downtown Madison, Inc., in recognition of their contribution to planning vision for downtown Madison.

Recognition AwardsIn recognition of extraordinary efforts in promoting Comprehensive Planning within their region.

  • Bay Lake Regional Planning Commission
  • East Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
  • North Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
  • Northwest Regional Planning Commission
  • Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
  • Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission
  • West Central  Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission



The American Planning Association (APA) is a nonprofit public interest and research organization committed to urban, suburban, regional and rural planning.  APA and its professional institute, the American Institute of Certified Planners, advance the art and science of planning to meet the needs of people and society.  There are over 600 active members in the Wisconsin Chapter of the APA.

Contact:    Carolyn J. Esswein, AICP, Awards Chair

414.266.9221   Carolyn.Esswein@graef-usa.com